Internal volumes

One thing i’ve really been thinking about is how these spaces should start to take shape volumetrically.

I think it’ll be important to provide a large performance and installation space, along with a few other gallery areas. I also need to include the research spaces.

I decided that it really doesn’t make sense to me to put the building up over the ground plane, which should be dedicated to public space. Given the fairly complex structure that is going to be needed underneath, I really don’t want to impede these spaces with structure to hold up what is really something i’m just trying to do to acheive a GFSA (if we really think about it).

I that, I think going entirely underground is the best option, including for the studios and research spaces.

 

I guess the problem now is that i’m starting to form spaces that really look alot like an underground carpark – So i think i need to start looking more at how these spaces can be created in a way that doesn’t rely on copying an aesthetic, just because it’s simialr to something else (ie converted industrial spaces, such as The Tanks at the Tate Modern)

22

Leave a comment